Who Is Pakistan’s Caretaker Prime Minister?

The parliament dissolved on 31st may 2018. The announcement of caretaker was made at a press conference held by prime minister Shahid Khaqan Abbasi and opposition leader Khursheed Shah. On 1st june, 22nd Chief Justice Nasir-ul-Mulk took the oath as the 7th caretaker prime minister of pakistan and announced that he will soon reveal the names of new cabinet members that will be only few, selective. One of his first decisions was to change his principal secretary, Fawad Hasan Fawad, and replace him with Sohail Amir.

“We discussed several names and all of them were credible but finally chose Nasir-ul-Mulk on merit as his name will be acceptable to everyone” said Abbasi.

The other proposed names for the position of caretaker PM included retired chief justice Tassaduq Hussain Jillani, former State Bank governor Dr Shamshad Akhtar, former minister Abdul Razzaq Daud, former Pakistan Cricket Board chair-man Zaka Ashraf and former ambassador to the United States Jalil Abbas Jilani.

The honored man Nasir-ul-Mulk was born on August 17, 1950 in Mingora, Swat. He is widely known for practicing of judicial restraint and never initiating  sou motu notices (a term in law where acts of  own cognizance and initiative) during his tenure. After bachelor in law (L.L.B) from Peshawar University in 1972, he acquired his master degree (Bar-at-Law) from Inner Temple London. No press release or media were ever to be seen regarding his representative of bar or meetings.

Who Is Pakistan's Caretaker Prime Minister

He served as a Chief Election Commissioner of Pakistan from 30 November to 6 July 2014 then resigned from his post to further act as a chief justice (succeeded Tassaduq Hussain Jillani) of Islamabad high court  from 6 July 2014 till 16 August 2015. Some of his historical acts include convicting former prime minister  Yousuf Raza Gilani (longest-serving prime minister in the history of Pakistan) in case of court order of reopening the swiss case against then president Asif Ali Zardari. He was disqualified as PM after verdict.

In November, 2007 he (one of seven judges) also signed a restraining order against Pervez Musharraf and refuse to take oath under POC (Provisional Constitutional Order, an order in state of declare emergency that suspends the Constitution of Pakistan). He was also the judge in Mukhtaran Mai gang rape case in 2002.

Nasir-ul-Mulk Appointments Throughout Tenure:

  • Secretary general, Peshawar High Court Bar Association in 1981.
  • Judge of Peshawar High Court: 1994.
  • Chief justice of Peshawar High Court: May 31, 2004.
  • Supreme Court judge: April 4, 2005.
  • Under the Naek formula took a fresh oath as a judge of the Supreme Court: 2008
  • Chief Election Commissioner of Pakistan: 30 November, 2013.
  • Chief justice of Islamabad high court :6 July, 2014.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Related Articles