Ireland is All Set to Make Its Cricket History With Pakistan Today!

On May 4th, 2018, Ireland announced its 14-man squad for the historic test matches against Pakistan. The first match will be played in Dublin on Friday, 11th May. The squad came out as a surprise as many of the prominent players were left out. Starting with Ireland’s famous left-arm spinner, George Dockerell the duo, Barry McCarthy and Peter Chase, also got left out. Tyrone Kane from Merrion, having 7 caps in the 2015’s T20 Internationals and the uncapped Nathan Smith also got a call up.

Ireland is All Set to Make Their Cricket History With Pakistan Today

The all-rounder Stuart Thompson also got a call-up for his 148 against the Leinster Lightning in the inter-provincial championship. The in-experienced James Shannon, playing only one T20 international since 2013 has also been selected for the squad. The only frontline slow bowler included in the squad is Andrew McBrine. Boyd Rankin from England has also been called up after he left England to join Australia after the devastating Ashes tour of 2013-14. Ed Joyce, the 40 year-old player has returned to action with his debut in this test match against Pakistan.

Ireland is All Set to Make Their Cricket History With Pakistan Today!

William Portfield will be leading the squad against Pakistan in the match. The Ireland’s 14-man team is:

  • William Portfield (Captain)
  • Andrew Balbirnie
  • Ed Joyce
  • Tyrone Kane
  • Andy McBrine
  • Tim Murtagh
  • Kevin O’Brein
  • Niall O’Brien
  • Boyd Rankin
  • Nathan Smith
  • Paul Stirling
  • James Shannon
  • Stuart Thompson
  • Gary Wilson

The team may or may not present a challenge for Pakistani team for nothing is predictable, maybe Ireland has some trick up its sleeve? Following this match, Pakistan is also facing England in a 2-match test series from 24 to 28 May in Lords and 1 to 5 June in Headingley.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Related Articles